The Senate

The Senate (formally known as Academic Board), subject to the provision of the article of Governance, is responsible for the development and oversight of the academic work of the University.

Terms of Reference Senate October 2021 onwards


Professor Jackie Dunne – Vice Chancellor (Chair) (Ex-officio)
Professor Peter Childs – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Vice-Chair) (Ex-officio)
Ms Andrea Bolshaw – University Secretary and Registrar (Ex-officio)
Dr Steve Dixon – Senior Lecturer in Education and Multi-Professional Practice (Department representative)
Dr Lorna Dodd – Head of Subject, Psychology (Department representative)
Dr David Flint – Interim Associate Dean, Faculty of Education (Ex-officio)
Dr Jo Hill – Associate Dean, Faculty of Education (Ex-officio)
Ms Margaret Holland – University Chaplain (Ex-officio)
Dr Mark Holland – Senior Lecturer, Sport (Department representative)
Ms Sian Howarth – Director of Student Services (Ex-officio)
Professor Mohammed Jakhara – Executive Dean (FASPS) (Ex-officio)
Dr Chris Langley – Senior Lecturer, History (Department representative)
Dr Charlotte Lewandowski – Interim Head of Subject, History (Department representative)
Professor Richard Medcalf – Pro Vice Chancellor, Students (Ex-officio)
Ronnie Meechan – Head of School (Associate Dean) Nursing and Allied Health (Ex-officio)
Dr Mehreen Mirza – Associate Dean (FASPS) and Head of Department (SSSB) (Ex-officio)
Dr Claire Monk – Senior Lecturer in Working With Children, Young People and Families (Department representative)
Professor John Peters – Director of Learning, Teaching and Scholarship (Ex-officio)
Ms Chris Porter – Director of Library and Learning Services (Ex-officio)
Dr Fiona Reid – Associate Dean (FASPS) and Head of Department (AHHS) (Ex-officio)
Alex Reston – SU President (SU Member)
Mr Tony Sharma – Chief Financial Officer (Ex-officio)
Dr Tricia Sterling – Executive Dean, Faculty of Education (Ex-officio)
Dr Alison Tatton – Head of Early Childhood Education and Care (Department representative)
Ms Lysandre de-la-Haye – Deputy Registrar (Secretary)