Newman University Equality and Diversity Committee

Terms of Reference and Membership 2021/22

The University's Committee Structure aims to put the University in a position of strength to deliver the evidence base that will enable us to engage with the OfS and its conditions of registration: <u>Office for Students (OfS), Conditions of registration</u>

Individual Committees are expected to utilise a range of indicators, quantitative and qualitative intelligence and horizon scanning that will enable them to monitor and review trends and spot (early on) any issues that may affect compliance. In doing so, they are empowered to drive and effect changes accordingly.

Purpose and Scope

To advise Council, Senate, the University Operations Team (UOT) and the University as a whole on issues of both equality and diversity.

In line with Newman University's Catholic ethos, to support the development of a culture which values all individuals and fosters an inclusive learning environment.

To positively promote equal opportunities through the dissemination of effective practice.

Terms of Reference

To advise the University on the fulfilment of statutory requirements related to equality and diversity.

To ensure that the principles of equality and diversity are embedded in University culture, documentation and practice.

To support the development of a fully inclusive and non-discriminatory learning and working environment.

To monitor the implementation of equality and diversity.

To consider policies, whether new or being updated, and advise where necessary.

To ensure that a regular review is undertaken in relation to all University policies and processes and that any actions arising are followed through.

To take actions where identified.

To monitor annual statistics with reference to equality and diversity issues; to receive and action any formal recommendations resulting from any incidence of discrimination, victimisation or harassment and make recommendations for subsequent action.

To monitor recruitment and employment practice in relation to equality and diversity.

To discuss any issues arising from annual monitoring reports and the Staff Survey, and make recommendations.

To ensure that appropriate staff development and training opportunities are developed and accessed and to monitor mandatory training.

To work appropriately with external bodies or set up task groups to address specific issues as necessary.

To provide an annual report to UOT, Senate and Council.

To publish annually results of monitoring carried out in line with the Public Sector Equality Duty.

To receive, review and respond to submissions from students and staff pertaining to importance and/or unresolved matters relating to equality and diversity.

To work with the Retention and Success Task Group, particularly in relation to the Access and Participation plan.

Reporting

Equality and Diversity Committee usually reports to Senate, Council and UOT as necessary.

Quoracy

The Equality and Diversity Committee is considered quorate where there are at least 50% +1 members present. Attendance of members will be monitored on an annual basis.

Frequency of Meetings

Four per year.

Constitution

The Vice-Chancellor will chair the Committee. In their absence a nominee of the Vice-Chancellor will chair.

Membership

Membership should reflect the diversity of the University workforce and include student representatives.

Vice-Chancellor (Chairperson)

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students)

University Secretary and Registrar

Deputy Registrar

Director of Human Resources

Director of Student Services

Director of Corporate Marketing

Director of Learning, Teaching and Scholarship

Executive Dean

University Chaplain

A minimum of four Academic staff members (two from Faculty of Education and two from Faculty of Arts, Society and Professional Studies)

Estates representative

Inclusion Coordinator

IT Services representative

Learning, Teaching and Academic Quality Committee representative

Professional and Support staff members

Staff member representing protected characteristics

Student representatives (as many as the Committee feels appropriate)

Union representatives

Tenure

For elected/nominated members: 3 years, with the possibility of nomination for a further 3 years (6 in total).

Servicing and Arrangements for Papers Dawn Picken (Quality Office)

NEWMAN UNIVERSITY EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY COMMITTEE

Committee Membership 2021/22

Role	Name	Tenure
Vice-Chancellor (Chairperson)	Professor Jackie Dunne	Ex-officio
		EX-OITICIO
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students)	Professor Richard Medcalf	Ex-officio
University Secretary and Registrar	Andrea Bolshaw	Ex-officio
Deputy Registrar	Lysandre de-la-Haye	Ex-officio
Director of Corporate Marketing	Alison John	Ex-officio
Director of Human Resources	Giosi Birkett	Ex-officio
Diverter of Learning Teaching and Cabalanshin	Ductores John Detern	Try officia
Director of Learning, Teaching and Scholarship	Professor John Peters	Ex-officio
Director of Student Services	Siân Howarth	Ex-officio
Executive Dean	Dr Mohammed Jakhara,	Ex-officio
Executive Dean	Executive Dean, FASPs	EX-OITICIO
Inclusion Coordinator		Ex-officio
Inclusion Coordinator	Heather Griffiths	EX-OTTICIO
University Chaplin	Margaret Holland	Ex-officio
	Matt Hamman and av	Try officia
Estates Representative	Matt Hammersley	Ex-officio
IT Services Representative	Stuart Walton	Ex-officio
Academic staff member (Faculty of Arts, Society	Dr Emma Folwell	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
and Professional Studies)		(000110 /10822)
Academic staff member (Faculty of Arts, Society	Dr Stella Williams	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
and Professional Studies)		
Academic staff member (Faculty of Education)	Andrew Sheehan	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
Academic staff member (Faculty of Education)	Byron Williams	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
Learning, Teaching and Academic Quality	Bob Ridge-Stearn	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
Committee Representative		
Professional and Support staff member	Jane Allcroft	(Sept 20 – Aug 23)
Professional and Support staff member	Jaspal Gharu	(Sept 21 – Aug 24)
· · ·		
Staff member representing protected	Paulette Sawyers	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
characteristics		
Student Representative	Emma Baldwin	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)
	Charatal Malia	(Cant 21 Aur 24)
Student Representative	Chantel Melia	(Sept 21 – Aug 24)
Student Representative	Omari Solarin	(Sept 19 – Aug 22)

Role	Name	Tenure
Student Representative	Jesse Shergill	(Sept 21 – Aug 24)
Union Representative - UCU	Keith Bishop	(Sept 20 – Aug 23)
Union Representative - UNISON	Shirley Meades	(Sept 20 – Aug 23)