

Newman University Regulations Task Group

Terms of Reference and Membership 2021/2022

The University's Committee Structure aims to put the University in a position of strength to deliver the evidence base that will enable us to engage with the Office for Students (OfS) and its conditions of registration.

Individual Committees are expected to utilise a range of indicators, quantitative and qualitative intelligence and horizon scanning that will enable them to monitor and review trends and spot (early on) any issues that may affect compliance. In doing so, they are empowered to drive and effect changes accordingly.

Purpose and Scope

The two primary purposes of the Regulations Task Group are:

- 1. To review the University's General Academic Regulations (and the various policies underpinning these) on an annual cycle so that they are reflective of the best interests of the students and are considered in light of:
 - Cases that have arisen during the year and ensure they are fit-for-purpose and align with the University's Terms & Conditions.
 - External governmental, sector and statutory requirements (e.g. CMA, OfS, OIA, QAA).
 - Strategic decision-making at University level so that the Regulations can help reinforce strategic policy (i.e. retention and progression).
 - Updates to the Regulations in line with enhancements to the student experience (i.e. use of plain English that is direct and free of jargon to enhance clarity).
- 2. To recommend changes in a timely fashion (being aware of CMA requirements) for the Learning, Teaching and Academic Quality Committee for subsequent approval by Senate.

Terms of Reference

- To consider and review the General Academic Regulations and associated policies.
- 2. To consider suggestions and recommended changes and/or amendments to the Regulations.
- 3. To ensure appropriate consultation, including students and appropriate external examiner is undertaken for the changes proposed.
- 4. To amend the Regulations and policies as agreed and to ensure that all changes are published and notified to staff and students in a timely and suitable manner.

Reporting

The Regulations Task Group reports to the Learning, Teaching and Academic Quality Committee (LTAQC)

Quoracy

50% plus 1. Attendance of members will be monitored on an annual basis.

Frequency of Meetings

Normally, at least 3 times during an academic cycle.

Membership

- A suitably experienced member of the University with in depth knowledge of the University regulations and other relevant processes (Chair)
- Associate Dean as nominated annually by Executive Deans
- Deputy Registrar
- Administrator for Mitigating Circumstances Board
- Up to four academic representatives from each faculty (to ensure coverage of all subject areas/departmental areas)
- Deputy Head of Registry (Assessments and Graduation)
- Director of Student Services
- Representative of the Academic Support Advisors
- Representative of SEAtS attendance and engagement processes
- Representatives from Newman Students' Union
- Quality Manager
- Co-option of representatives from particular areas as and when required (e.g. Learning, Teaching & Scholarship, Timetabling Manager, Head of eLearning)

Tenure

Three years for nominated representatives.

Servicing & Arrangements for Papers

Quality Office (Dawn Picken)

NEWMAN UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS TASK GROUP

Task Group Membership 2021/22

Role	Name	Tenure
Deputy Director of Learning, Teaching and Scholarship (Chairperson)	Dr Paul Yates	
Associate Dean	Dr Joanne Hill	Nominated AD representative for the 2021/22 academic year
Deputy Registrar	Lysandre de-la-Haye	Ex-officio
Director of Student Services	Siân Howarth	Ex-officio
Deputy Head of Registry (responsible for Assessments and Graduation)	Jaspal Gharu	Ex-officio
Administrator for Mitigating Circumstances Board	Heather Ramsden	Ex-officio
Academic Support Advisor representative	Adele Hickman or Jacqueline Ridge (alternating)	Ex-officio
Representative of Seats attendance and engagement processes	Sarah Parkes	Ex-officio
Representative from Newman Students' Union	Alex Reston	Nominated
Quality Manager	Jennifer Perkins	Ex-officio
Academic staff member (Faculty of Arts, Society and Professional Studies representing AHHS)	Dr Emma Folwell	(Sept 18 – Aug 2021)
Academic staff member (Faculty of Arts, Society and Professional Studies representing SSSB)	Dr Taimur Sharif	(Sept 21 – Aug 2024)
Academic staff member (Faculty of Education representing ITTE)	Dr Branwen Bingle	(Sept 20 – Aug 2023)
Academic staff member (Faculty of Education representing EMPPEC)	Dr Steve Dixon	(Sept 20 – Aug 2023)