Newman University is a company limited by guarantee and a registered charity. Its objects are the conduct of a Roman Catholic University for the advancement of education, learning and research for the benefit of the public.

The University is self-governing and legally independent but regulated as a public body.

The University Council

The University Council is responsible for determining the educational character and mission of the University and for overseeing its activities. Its members are also directors of the Company and Charity Trustees. The Board of Governors currently meets four times per year. Follow the link for further information about The University Council.


The Senate has delegated responsibility from the Board of Governors for the development and oversight of the academic work of the University.

University Leadership Team

The Vice-Chancellor is the Chief Executive, appointed by the University Council, and is responsible for the organisation, direction and management of the University. The University Leadership Team team consists of the Vice-Chancellor, Pro-Vice Chancellor Formative Education, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research & Scholarship, Director of Finance & Corporate Services and the University Secretary & Registrar.

University Operation Team (UOT) 

The general management of the organisation is steered by the University Operations Team which meets on a weekly basis to consider the implementation of University strategy and policy.

Related Policies